Spenti vs Qalta: where does the AI actually run?
Qalta keeps its ledger in local SQLite, yet sends scans and voice input through its backend to OpenAI. Spenti keeps recognition and spending chat on your device by default, and only you can change that. That one architectural choice shapes the rest of this comparison.
What they have in common
Both apps use AI to remove repetitive expense entry, support Thai interfaces and can scan receipts. Qalta also accepts bills and statements and offers voice entry. Spenti scans paper receipts, Thai bank slips and PromptPay screenshots, then provides a chat over the spending already recorded, on-device by default. Both keep a working ledger locally, though their paths for AI input differ.
Where the receipt goes
Qalta’s privacy policy, effective 6 September 2026, says its backend uses Supabase and forwards receipt images and voice transcription input to OpenAI. It also says financial records are stored locally in SQLite. “Local ledger” therefore does not mean that every input stays local.
By default, Spenti runs receipt recognition and spending questions on the phone. The image and extracted transaction are never sent to Spenti. On Pro you can turn on Your own AI: then the text read from each receipt and your chat questions go from your phone to the provider you picked, under your own account and key. The photo stays on the phone either way. It connects for the initial model download, store purchases and updates, plus optional services you choose such as exchange rates or backup to your own iCloud or Google Drive.
Thai slips and paper receipts
Qalta’s official listing describes receipt, bill and statement scanning, but does not document dedicated Thai bank-slip or PromptPay logic. That is different from saying it cannot read one; it means the feature is not documented. Spenti explicitly targets Thai slips and PromptPay screenshots as well as paper receipts. Qalta’s voice entry may be more useful if speaking a transaction is central to your routine.
For an expat in Thailand, this distinction can be more useful than a generic language checklist. A Thai menu helps you navigate; dedicated slip handling addresses the layout and fields produced by local banks. If statements and spoken entry matter more than PromptPay screenshots, Qalta’s feature mix may still be the better match.
Account, backup, offline
Spenti requires no account, and its on-device scan and chat work offline after the initial download. Personal cloud backup is optional on paid plans and goes to the iCloud or Google Drive account the user chooses.
Qalta stores its ledger locally, while its policy says Supabase stores account information, subscription status and AI usage counters. The policy does not establish whether every user must create an account, so that requirement remains undocumented. Optional ledger backup goes to the user’s iCloud. Scans and voice processing still need a network path through Supabase to OpenAI, so local records and iCloud backup do not make AI input offline.
Qalta’s listing says “Only for iPhone.” It can run on a compatible Apple-silicon Mac, but that does not make it a native Mac app. Android users are outside its documented platform support. For recovery, both products make backup a separate choice: local-only use leaves recovery dependent on the phone.
Price
Qalta is Free · Pro $3.99/mo or $29.99/yr · Family $5.99/mo or $49.99/yr (US store). Spenti is Free · Basic ฿49/mo or ฿499/yr · Pro ฿99/mo, ฿799/yr or ฿2,999 lifetime, and its Free plan never expires or asks for a card. Dollar storefront prices may differ by country; values here were checked on 21 September 2026.
| What we compared | Qalta | Spenti |
|---|---|---|
| Thai slips & receipts | Receipt scanner; Thai slip support not disclosed | Yes — Thai slips, PromptPay and paper receipts |
| Where the AI / OCR runs | Cloud — Supabase → OpenAI | On your phone by default — scanning and chat; Pro can use your own AI under your own account |
| Uploads & cloud storage | Sent to OpenAI — scans and voice | Never to Spenti; receipt text goes to your own AI only if you connect one; personal cloud backup is opt-in |
| Account | Not disclosed | No Spenti account |
| Offline use | Local ledger; AI needs internet | Yes — on this phone, after the initial download |
| Platforms | iPhone · compatible Apple-silicon Macs | iOS 16 or later |
| Listed prices | Free · Pro $3.99/mo or $29.99/yr · Family $5.99/mo or $49.99/yr (US store) | Free · Basic ฿49/mo or ฿499/yr · Pro ฿99/mo, ฿799/yr or ฿2,999 lifetime |
Who should pick which
The real difference is who chooses. Qalta sends scans and voice input to its named cloud providers by design. Spenti keeps receipt recognition and spending questions on the phone unless you, on Pro, connect your own provider under your own key. Pick Qalta if you value voice entry and statement scanning and are comfortable with that cloud path. Pick Spenti if you want explicit Thai-slip support, or want the cloud to be your decision rather than the app's. Qalta is unusually clear about its split between local records and cloud AI; that clarity makes the tradeoff easier to evaluate.
Frequently asked questions
Answered from the checked sources
Does Qalta send receipts to OpenAI?
Yes. Qalta's privacy policy, effective 6 September 2026, says receipt scans and voice input are sent through its Supabase backend to OpenAI. The expense ledger itself is stored locally on the device.
Does Spenti send anything to OpenAI or Google?
Not by default. Receipt recognition and spending chat run on your phone without sending receipts or questions to a cloud AI provider, and both work offline after the models are downloaded. If you are on Pro and turn on Your own AI, receipt text and chat questions go straight from your phone to the provider you connect, under your own account; never to Spenti, and never the photos. Optional backup is separate: it copies financial data to your own iCloud or Google Drive account.
Is Qalta available on Android?
No. Qalta's App Store listing is for iPhone, with Mac compatibility. Spenti is on iPhone too (iOS 16 or later); its Android version is next.
How do Qalta and Spenti prices compare?
Qalta: Free · Pro $3.99/mo or $29.99/yr · Family $5.99/mo or $49.99/yr (US store). Spenti: Free · Basic ฿49/mo or ฿499/yr · Pro ฿99/mo, ฿799/yr or ฿2,999 lifetime, with a Free plan that never expires. Prices as listed on 21 September 2026.
How this was checked
We read Qalta’s official store listing and privacy policy, then compared them with Spenti’s published facts on 21 September 2026. Features not stated in those sources are marked as undocumented. Corrections are welcome.